Actors Michael Peña, Kathryn Newton; gymnast Aly Raisman headline First Tee Leadership Summit in Partnership with PGA TOUR Superstore

40 First Tee teens from across the country will experience the wonders of Montana, sharpen their leadership skills during two week-long retreats. 

WEST CREEK RANCH, Mont., (July 31, 2023) – First Tee and PGA TOUR Superstore are set to host 40 teens from across the country at West Creek Ranch, an intimate setting in Montana for leadership development, community building, inspiration and connection owned by PGA TOUR Superstore chairman and First Tee board member Arthur M. Blank. The teens will learn about leadership and explore their own strengths and values during two week-long Summits, which will feature guest speakers, leadership training and outdoor activities. 

Each week will tee off with keynote speakers who will discuss their individual leadership, open up about their life experiences and how they have grown through opportunities and challenges. The first week will feature actors Michael Peña and Kathryn Newton, the latter a First Tee – Miami alumna, who will also play golf with the participants. Olympic gold medal gymnast Aly Raisman will be the featured speaker during the second week. Photos and videos of Peña, Newton and Raisman will be available here

Set in the unforgettable backdrop of West Creek Ranch, the First Tee Leadership Summit is designed to help teens grow their leadership skills through dynamic activities that require teamwork and personal strength, including golf, small group reflections, whitewater rafting, hiking and more. Daily leadership themes include building authentic relationships, growing through challenge and building positive self-identity.  

This is the third consecutive year that nonprofit youth development organization First Tee and PGA TOUR Superstore will hold the Summit at West Creek for 40 participants from 25 cities across the country, with 20 teens attending each week. West Creek Ranch is a 6,600-acre working ranch in Emigrant, Montana, that is bordered by the Yellowstone River and Gallatin National Forest.  

“The First Tee students are going to have a memorable week learning about innovation and creative problem solving, share unique experiences that will inspire ideas and most importantly build relationships with their peers from across the country,” said Dick Sullivan, Executive Chairman & CEO, PGA TOUR Superstore. “We truly believe in the purposeful impact sports can have in developing and supporting youth and are proud to partner with First Tee across the country throughout the year.”  

“Thank you to Arthur Blank and PGA TOUR Superstore for continuing to support this impactful event,” added Greg McLaughlin, First Tee CEO. “We are confident these 40 participants will take away lifelong lessons and make incredible memories.” 

At the conclusion of the Summit, four students will be selected for the First Tee College Scholarship Program and will receive financial support as well as access to mentorship and professional development opportunities throughout college. 

To be eligible for the Summit, teens completed a five-week Leadership Series that was hosted at PGA TOUR Superstore locations across the country and completed applications that outlined their leadership experience and goals. The diverse group of selected participants – 24 young women and 16 young men – on average have spent seven years in the First Tee program. 

For more than a decade, PGA TOUR Superstore and Arthur Blank have championed First Tee’s mission through donations and by supporting participant events, including the Leadership Summit and the Leadership Academy, which was held for the first time in Atlanta earlier this year.  

The Leadership Summit is one of several national opportunities provided by First Tee to expose teens to new challenges and inspire them as they prepare to embark on life after high school.  


Name                                              First Tee Chapter 

Jeremiah Aguiniga                        First Tee – Greater Chicago 

Allison   Brown                               First Tee – Greater Philadelphia 

Jaden    Chin                                  First Tee – San Francisco 

Matthew Cook                               First Tee – Metro Atlanta 

Gabrielle Cunningham    First Tee – Green Valley Ranch (CO) 

Mary Kerr                                       First Tee – Greater Houston 

Zoe Kim                                          First Tee – Orange County (CA) 

Sophia  Lohr                                  First Tee – Greater Dallas 

Georgia Meysman-Sharpe           First Tee – Colorado Rocky Mountains  

Elise Njogu                                     First Tee – Silicon Valley 

Li An Panfil                                     First Tee – Silicon Valley 

Aryana Persaud                             First Tee – Central Florida 

Harrison Powell                             First Tee – North Florida 

Joaquin Rodriguez                        First Tee – Green Valley Ranch (CO) 

David Sandino                               First Tee – Florida Gold Coast 

Rhea Shetty                                   First Tee – Tri-Valley (CA)

Randee Tormondsen                    First Tee – Utah 

Nathan Vertes                               First Tee – Florida Gold Coast 

Bailey Webb                                  First Tee – Colorado Rocky Mountains 

Jake Zulueta                                  First Tee – Greater Charlotte                     


Name                                              First Tee Chapter 

Rizwaan Bana                               First Tee – Orange County (CA) 

Aanya   Batra                                 First Tee – Tri-Valley (CA) 

Kennedy Bell                                  First Tee – Greater Austin 

Seth Damsgard                             First Tee – Minnesota 

Peyton  DeBruin                             First Tee – Greater Houston 

Jillian Fatkin                                   First Tee – Coastal Carolinas 

Hailey Hays                                    First Tee – Coachella Valley 

Megan Horacefield                        First Tee – Greater Houston 

William Inman                                First Tee – Savannah 

Charli Jones                                   First Tee – Greater Philadelphia 

Rida Karim                                     First Tee – Greater Washington, DC 

Emmy Martinez                             First Tee – Greater Dallas 

Ethan Miller                                    First Tee – Greater Washington, DC 

Joseph Neddo                               First Tee – North Florida 

Lorelei   O’Donnell                          First Tee – Fort Worth 

Brandon Quach                             First Tee – Raritan Valley (NJ) 

Xander  Sehgal                             First Tee – Greater Washington, DC 

Melony  Su                                      First Tee – San Francisco 

Christopher Taylor                        First Tee – Massachusetts 

Claire Young                                  First Tee – San Francisco